214-370-8260

Commercial Driver’s License Violations

When Results Matter Most


Commercial Driver’s License Violations

Commercial Driver’s License Violations (Class C Misdemeanors)

If you have a Commercial Driver’s License (CDL), the State of Texas holds you to a higher standard than other drivers on the road. Although traffic ticket convictions for non-CDL holders can have serious consequences, for CDL holders it can be much more serious.  If you are found guilty and a conviction is entered on your driving record, your license and your job are at risk.

In Texas, if you are convicted of two serious traffic violations during a 36-month period, your Commercial Driver’s License will be suspended for a period of 60 days.

If you are convicted of committing three or more serious traffic violations during a 36-month period, you will lose your license for a period of 120 days.

To keep you on the road legally driving and gainfully employed, you need experienced and competent legal representation. ANDERSON & ANDERSON, LLP is an experienced traffic ticket defense law firm familiar with the Municipal Courts and Justice of the Peace Courts throughout the DFW metroplex. Retain our legal services, and we will provide you with sound and effective legal representation. In an effort to keep your driving record clean, we will help you navigate the oftentimes complex and confusing legal challenges that may arise.

Serious Traffic Violations Include:

  • Speeding 15 miles per hour or higher above the posted speed limit
  • Reckless driving
  • Improper lane change
  • Erratic lane change
  • Driving a tractor-trailer without a CDL
  • Running red lights
  • Causing an accident
  • No Insurance
  • Driving While License Suspended

Remember, you should not simply pay the ticket without a fight when you have a CDL traffic infraction.

ANDERSON & ANDERSON, LLP is an experienced Dallas Fort Worth Metroplex traffic ticket defense law firm specializing in Commercial Driver’s License violations. We defend cases in both the Justice of the Peace Courts and Municipal Courts in Collin County, Dallas County, Denton County, Ellis County, Johnson County, Kaufman County, and Tarrant County. Our legal team will present a vigorous defense and work for the best possible outcome. Please contact us at 214-370-8260 for a complimentary consultation.

If you have a traffic ticket, you may be tempted to simply pay it. Please note that in the State of Texas, simply paying a ticket is an admission of guilt. The Court will report the offense to DPS as a conviction on your driving record. This may result in increased automobile insurance premiums or possible license suspension depending on the circumstances. Below are some of the common questions about Texas traffic ticket violations.

Yes. The Court must give the Department of Public Safety all conviction records which involve operating a motor vehicle in the State. So, most traffic violations will appear on your record, and points will be assessed.

All traffic citations have an Appearance Date. All Courts have different time frames in which to timely respond to an alleged offense. If you miss the appearance date, a warrant may be issued for your arrest. In addition, you may also receive a subsequent offense – a Failure to Appear or a Violate Promise to Appear. Contact our law firm. ANDERSON & ANDERSON, LLP can help.

No. It would seem that simply paying the fine is the right thing to do; however, in the State of Texas this will result in a conviction. Contact ANDERSON & ANDERSON, LLP for advice on how to proceed.

In the interest of keeping track of driver behavior, the DPS Driver Responsibility Program assesses points for each moving violation – two points for any in-state and our-of-state conviction and three points for a conviction resulting in a crash. The points remain on your driving record for three years from the date of the conviction.  When a certain number of points are accumulated, the driver will face a driver license suspension.

Not all traffic violations lead to points.  If you receive a ticket for travelling 10 mph or less over the posted speed limit or a seat belt violation, you will not incur any points.