Oftentimes, you may not be aware that your driver’s license is suspended. The Texas Department of Public Safety sends a Notice of Suspension to drivers at their last known address via U.S. Postal Service. If your mailing address is not current with DPS, you will not receive the Notice. Or if you do receive the Notice, you may fail to understand the importance of responding to the Notice of Suspension in a timely and correct manner. The State of Texas is becoming increasingly more diligent in suspending, revoking, canceling, or denying one’s driving privileges.
If DPS has suspended your right to drive, you may be eligible for an Occupational Driver’s License. An ODL is a valid Texas Driver’s License that permits you to operate a motor vehicle on a public roadway for basic needs and essential travel. Please be aware that the Texas Department of Public Safety prohibits Commercial Driver’s License holders from obtaining an Occupational Driver’s License.
If you find yourself with a suspended license, ANDERSON & ANDERSON, LLP can help you to legally get back on the road as quickly as possible. We will draft the Petition for Occupational Driver’s License, file the Petition in the appropriate Court, set the matter for a hearing, and present a strong defense.
With an Occupational Driver’s License, you can legally drive up to 12 hours a day / 7 days a week. The ODL is valid for going to and from work, school, driving for work, and essential everyday personal activities, i.e.,
ANDERSON & ANDERSON, LLP is an experienced Occupational Driver’s License law firm that helps individuals quickly secure an Occupational Driver’s License. We address ODL cases in the Justice of the Peace Courts and County Courts in Collin County, Dallas County, Denton County, and Tarrant County. Our legal team will present a vigorous defense and work for the best possible outcome. Please contact us at 214-370-8260 for a complimentary consultation.
Visit our FAQs page to get answers to some of the most common questions we hear. If a question you have is not included, contact our firm to speak with an attorney.
If you have a traffic ticket, you may be tempted to simply pay it. Please note that in the State of Texas, simply paying a ticket is an admission of guilt. The Court will report the offense to DPS as a conviction on your driving record. This may result in increased automobile insurance premiums or possible license suspension depending on the circumstances. Below are some of the common questions about Texas traffic ticket violations.
Yes. The Court must give the Department of Public Safety all conviction records which involve operating a motor vehicle in the State. So, most traffic violations will appear on your record, and points will be assessed.
All traffic citations have an Appearance Date. All Courts have different time frames in which to timely respond to an alleged offense. If you miss the appearance date, a warrant may be issued for your arrest. In addition, you may also receive a subsequent offense – a Failure to Appear or a Violate Promise to Appear. Contact our law firm. ANDERSON & ANDERSON, LLP can help.
No. It would seem that simply paying the fine is the right thing to do; however, in the State of Texas this will result in a conviction. Contact ANDERSON & ANDERSON, LLP for advice on how to proceed.
In the interest of keeping track of driver behavior, the DPS Driver Responsibility Program assesses points for each moving violation – two points for any in-state and our-of-state conviction and three points for a conviction resulting in a crash. The points remain on your driving record for three years from the date of the conviction. When a certain number of points are accumulated, the driver will face a driver license suspension.
Not all traffic violations lead to points. If you receive a ticket for travelling 10 mph or less over the posted speed limit or a seat belt violation, you will not incur any points.