Do you know that not all roads in the State of Texas are free? The North Texas Transportation Authority maintains the operation of toll roads throughout North Texas. Many drivers have a toll tag that is registered to a specific vehicle. When toll tag owners drive through a toll station, the owner’s account is automatically debited as long as the owner has valid and current payment information on file with the NTTA. Drivers that do not have a toll tag with current payment information or do not own a toll tag will receive an NTTA invoice in the mail. Failure to pay the invoice will result in collection fees. If not timely addressed, these fees can accumulate quickly.
If you receive a Third Notice of Non-Payment, DPS may issue you a Failure to Pay Toll citation. At this point, you will have two issues that need to be addressed – the Class C Failure to Pay Toll traffic violation (criminal matter) as well as the outstanding toll and collections fees owed to NTTA (civil matter). If the Failure to Pay Toll is not addressed timely, the Judge may issue a warrant for your arrest.
If an individual ignores NTTA invoices, the NTTA with notify DPS. DPS will then issue a Class C traffic citation which will be filed in the appropriate Justice of the Peace Court. Texas law states that the registered owner of a vehicle who has not paid toll fees after 25 days has committed a Failure to Pay Toll traffic offense with a fine of up to $250.
Yes. Failure to pay toll is a Class C Misdemeanor. The Judge will issue a warrant for your arrest if you ignore a Failure to Pay Toll citation and do not take appropriate action prior to the appearance date.
Toll tag warrants may result in the possibility of having your vehicle registration blocked or scofflawed.
As you can see, there are many issues to consider when you have been accused of not paying NTTA tolls. ANDERSON & ANDERSON, LLP can help you lift the arrest warrant, clear the scofflaw/registration block, and negotiate a satisfactory result that may include reduced fines.
ANDERSON & ANDERSON, LLP is an experienced Failure to Pay Toll / NTTA law firm specializing in toll tag violations. We address cases in the Justice of the Peace Courts in Collin County, Dallas County, Denton County, and Tarrant County. Our legal team will present a vigorous defense. Please contact our office at 214-370-8260 for a complimentary consultation.
Visit our FAQs page to get answers to some of the most common questions we hear. If a question you have is not included, contact our firm to speak with an attorney.
If you have a traffic ticket, you may be tempted to simply pay it. Please note that in the State of Texas, simply paying a ticket is an admission of guilt. The Court will report the offense to DPS as a conviction on your driving record. This may result in increased automobile insurance premiums or possible license suspension depending on the circumstances. Below are some of the common questions about Texas traffic ticket violations.
Yes. The Court must give the Department of Public Safety all conviction records which involve operating a motor vehicle in the State. So, most traffic violations will appear on your record, and points will be assessed.
All traffic citations have an Appearance Date. All Courts have different time frames in which to timely respond to an alleged offense. If you miss the appearance date, a warrant may be issued for your arrest. In addition, you may also receive a subsequent offense – a Failure to Appear or a Violate Promise to Appear. Contact our law firm. ANDERSON & ANDERSON, LLP can help.
No. It would seem that simply paying the fine is the right thing to do; however, in the State of Texas this will result in a conviction. Contact ANDERSON & ANDERSON, LLP for advice on how to proceed.
In the interest of keeping track of driver behavior, the DPS Driver Responsibility Program assesses points for each moving violation – two points for any in-state and our-of-state conviction and three points for a conviction resulting in a crash. The points remain on your driving record for three years from the date of the conviction. When a certain number of points are accumulated, the driver will face a driver license suspension.
Not all traffic violations lead to points. If you receive a ticket for travelling 10 mph or less over the posted speed limit or a seat belt violation, you will not incur any points.