Texas Traffic Ticket Defense FAQs

If you have a traffic ticket, you may be tempted to simply pay it. Please note that in the State of Texas, simply paying a ticket is an admission of guilt. The Court will report the offense to DPS as a conviction on your driving record. This may result in increased automobile insurance premiums or possible license suspension depending on the circumstances. Below are some of the common questions about Texas traffic ticket violations.
Yes. The Court must give the Department of Public Safety all conviction records which involve operating a motor vehicle in the State. So, most traffic violations will appear on your record, and points will be assessed.
All traffic citations have an Appearance Date. All Courts have different time frames in which to timely respond to an alleged offense. If you miss the appearance date, a warrant may be issued for your arrest. In addition, you may also receive a subsequent offense – a Failure to Appear or a Violate Promise to Appear. Contact our law firm. ANDERSON & ANDERSON, LLP can help.
No. It would seem that simply paying the fine is the right thing to do; however, in the State of Texas this will result in a conviction. Contact ANDERSON & ANDERSON, LLP for advice on how to proceed.

In the interest of keeping track of driver behavior, the DPS Driver Responsibility Program assesses points for each moving violation – two points for any in-state and our-of-state conviction and three points for a conviction resulting in a crash. The points remain on your driving record for three years from the date of the conviction.  When a certain number of points are accumulated, the driver will face a driver license suspension.

Not all traffic violations lead to points.  If you receive a ticket for travelling 10 mph or less over the posted speed limit or a seat belt violation, you will not incur any points.

If you drive with a suspended license and are caught, you may be jailed. Contact ANDERSON & ANDERSON, LLP for advice on how to proceed.
Contact ANDERSON & ANDERSON, LLP for advice on how to proceed. Oftentimes, we can get fine reductions, dismissals, or payment plans.
To avoid the embarrassment of arrest, contact ANDERSON & ANDERSON, LLP for advice on how to proceed. Depending on the circumstances of your case, we might be able to post an attorney bond to have the warrant lifted.
Our office gets a lot of questions about driver license suspensions. Here are the most common ones. If you have a question, contact ANDERSON & ANDERSON, LLP today.
A certain number of traffic violations triggers a Texas driver license suspension. For example, your license is automatically suspended if you have four traffic violations in a year or seven in a 24-month period. However, you and your attorney can contest your driver license suspension within 20 days from the date of the “Notice of Suspension”. The license suspension is stayed until the Judge makes a ruling on your case. You can also have your driver’s license suspended for severe violations, such as drunk driving or causing a fatal accident.
The length of the suspension depends on the allegation that brought about the suspension.  A driver’s license can be suspended for up to two years.  In some cases, the suspension can be indefinite. A definite license suspension means that the suspension will end at a predetermined period and that you have paid the necessary reinstatement fees. An indefinite suspension means that your license will remain suspended until you take necessary action.
If your driver’s license is suspended, you need to wait for the suspension period to end and pay the reinstatement fee. Or if you are within the 20-day period after that date of your Notice of Suspension, your attorney can contest the suspension. Please note that if you missed the 20-day deadline, you may be eligible for an Occupational Driver’s License. Contact our office to see if we can get you back on the road driving legally as quickly as possible.
Yes. In most cases, our attorneys can appear on your behalf, so that you do not need to take time from work or school.
Yes. The State of Texas can suspend your driver’s license if you were deemed at fault for a motor vehicle accident and did not have valid insurance at the time of the accident. This type of license suspension may be indefinite until you provide the Court with proof that you have satisfied any outstanding claims regarding the accident.
Do not procrastinate. Contact our office today. ANDERSON & ANDERSON, LLP will contest the suspension on your behalf.  We will attend the Driver’s License Hearing on your behalf and fight to protect your driving privileges.