Texas laws are designed to remove unsafe drivers from the road before they cause an accident. Drivers can be deemed dangerous/habitual violators if they accumulate too many traffic violation convictions within a certain period. The Texas Department of Public Safety also suspends a driver’s license if a driver is deemed unfit to operate a motor vehicle due to mental and/or physical health concerns.
Furthermore, a suspension may result from a civil judgment entered against a driver involved in an accident that remains unsatisfied. The suspension remains in effect until the debtor driver pays the judgment or settles with the creditor.
A suspended license is a serious problem. Drivers are required to have a valid driver’s license to go to and from work, school, and much more. Driving on a suspended license is a Class C Misdemeanor with a potential maximum $500 fine. If you are charged with a subsequent DWLS / DWLI offense due to previous DWLS / DWLI convictions, the offense can be enhanced to a Class B or Class A Misdemeanor. If you are charged with a Class B or Class A Misdemeanor, you are exposed to possible arrest and jail time, increased fines, and further license suspension.
A suspended license can result from too many traffic ticket convictions. Any driver with four traffic ticket convictions within a 12-month period or seven traffic ticket convictions within a 24- month period faces a possible driver’s license suspension. Also, a conviction for the offenses of No DL or No Insurance (Failure to Maintain Financial Responsibility) may trigger an automatic suspension.
In addition, the Texas Medical Advisory Board (MAB) can revoke your license for medical reasons. This type of revocation can occur because of medical conditions, such as epilepsy. If a police officer suspects that you suffer from a medical or physical condition that prohibits you from safely operating a motor vehicle on a public roadway, he can confiscate your DL immediately or the Texas Department of Public Safety may notify you at your current mailing address that your license may be suspended. Losing your privilege to drive for medical reasons can last a lifetime if you do not take the necessary steps to reinstate your license.
If the Texas Department of Public Safety sends you a Notice of Suspension, you need to act quickly. You have only 20 days from the date of the DPS notice to notify DPS that you are contesting the suspension of your driver’s license. Failure to respond in a timely manner will result in the automatic suspension of your DL.
Come to ANDERSON & ANDERSON, LLP within the 20-day period to retain our legal services. Our law office will timely file a response to DPS and represent you at the Driver’s License Suspension Hearing. If you miss the deadline, ANDERSON & ANDERSON, LLP can still help you to get back on the road to drive legally. You may be eligible for an Occupational Driver’s License.
A driver’s license suspension can negatively impact your life in numerous ways. Aside from limiting your overall freedom and losing the privilege to drive to and from work, it can also result in strained relationships when you become dependent upon others for your transportation needs.
Fortunately, Texas has a process where you can contest your driver’s license suspension. If contested successfully, you may be back on the road sooner than you think.
ANDERSON & ANDERSON, LLP is an experienced Dallas Ft. Worth Metroplex traffic ticket defense law firm specializing in Driver License Suspension Hearings. We address cases in both the Justice of the Peace Courts and Municipal Courts throughout the DFW Metroplex – Collin County, Dallas County, Denton County, Ellis County, Johnson County, Kaufman County, and Tarrant County. Our legal team will present a vigorous defense and work for the best possible outcome. Please contact us at 214-370-8260 for a complimentary consultation.
Visit our FAQs page to get answers to some of the most common questions we hear. If a question you have is not included, contact our firm to speak with an attorney.
If you have a traffic ticket, you may be tempted to simply pay it. Please note that in the State of Texas, simply paying a ticket is an admission of guilt. The Court will report the offense to DPS as a conviction on your driving record. This may result in increased automobile insurance premiums or possible license suspension depending on the circumstances. Below are some of the common questions about Texas traffic ticket violations.
Yes. The Court must give the Department of Public Safety all conviction records which involve operating a motor vehicle in the State. So, most traffic violations will appear on your record, and points will be assessed.
All traffic citations have an Appearance Date. All Courts have different time frames in which to timely respond to an alleged offense. If you miss the appearance date, a warrant may be issued for your arrest. In addition, you may also receive a subsequent offense – a Failure to Appear or a Violate Promise to Appear. Contact our law firm. ANDERSON & ANDERSON, LLP can help.
No. It would seem that simply paying the fine is the right thing to do; however, in the State of Texas this will result in a conviction. Contact ANDERSON & ANDERSON, LLP for advice on how to proceed.
In the interest of keeping track of driver behavior, the DPS Driver Responsibility Program assesses points for each moving violation – two points for any in-state and our-of-state conviction and three points for a conviction resulting in a crash. The points remain on your driving record for three years from the date of the conviction. When a certain number of points are accumulated, the driver will face a driver license suspension.
Not all traffic violations lead to points. If you receive a ticket for travelling 10 mph or less over the posted speed limit or a seat belt violation, you will not incur any points.