Getting a traffic ticket in Texas is irritating, but if you get more than one ticket and do not deal with them correctly and in a timely manner, it can harm your driving record. Your driver’s license could even be suspended, so if you have several traffic tickets, please speak to our Dallas traffic ticket lawyers at Anderson & Anderson, LLP.
Your Texas Driver’s License Can Be Suspended For Traffic Convictions
It is vital in Dallas and elsewhere in Texas to obey all traffic laws. If you do not and you get too many traffic convictions in a certain period, your driver’s license could be suspended. Specifically, your license may be suspended if you get four or more traffic violations in one year or seven or more violations within two years.
Furthermore, Texas state law says if you are convicted of at least two offenses for any violation that conflicts with an endorsement or restriction on your license, it also could be suspended.
Driver’s License Suspension Hearings
When the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) starts a suspension action against your license, you are informed by mail at the address on record for your license. For this reason, it is very important that you notify DPS of any address change. The notification will tell you the reason for the potential suspension and if you can attend a hearing. You have up to 20 days after the date of the notification to request a hearing.
If you make your request outside the allowed 20 days, the request is denied, and you will be told of this fact by mail.
If you miss the deadline or if your DL is suspended at the hearing, you might be eligible for an Occupational Driver’s License.
If you receive notice of a possible suspension, immediately contact our attorneys at Anderson & Anderson, LLP. Our lawyers are knowledgeable and experienced in addressing Driver’s License Suspension Hearings.
How Long Can A Texas Driver’s License Be Suspended?
The hearing officer determines the length of the driver’s license suspension, and it can vary based on your age and other factors. Driver’s license suspensions for moving violations are often 30, 60, or 90 days long. If you are a driver over 21 and convicted of DUI, your license may be suspended for two years, and drivers under 21 may get a one-year suspension.
How Do You Get Your Driver’s License Reinstated?
If your Texas driver’s license was suspended, you must wait until the end of the suspension period and pay the fee to reinstate it. Contact our traffic ticket attorneys who can advise you on possibly obtaining an Occupational Driver’s License, so that you can legally drive during the suspension.
What Happens If You Drive On A Suspended License In Texas?
In most cases, driving on a suspended license in Texas is a Class C misdemeanor, and you can be fined up to $500. However, you could be convicted of a Class B misdemeanor if you drive on a suspended license in the following cases:
- You were previously convicted of driving on a suspended license.
- You did not have auto insurance when the offense occurred.
- Your driver’s license was suspended for DWI / DUI.
A Class B misdemeanor in Texas can get you up to 180 days in jail and a fine of up to $2,000. Driving on a suspended license also may be a Class A misdemeanor if you drove without auto insurance and caused an accident that injured or killed someone. A Class A misdemeanor may result in a year in jail and up to $4,000 in fines.
What Are Other Reasons Your Driver’s License Can Be Suspended In Texas?
- Driving intoxicated
- Refusing to take a breathalyzer test
- Causing an accident
- Operating a vehicle without valid insurance (Texas Safety Responsibility Act)
- Various types of traffic violations, such as speeding
- Not paying child support
DUI / DWI
If you are arrested for drunk driving, your license could be suspended under the Administrative License Revocation (ALR) Program. Also, if you decline to take a blood or breath test when a police officer asks you to, your driver’s license can be suspended for 180 days for the first offense.
Getting In An Accident Where You Were At Fault
If you get in a car accident where you were at fault, your driver’s license could be suspended according to the Texas Safety Responsibility Act. Your driver’s license could be suspended if the crash happened on a public road and the incident caused severe injury, death, or at least $1,000 in property damage. Contact our traffic ticket attorneys at Anderson & Anderson, LLP who can advise you
Driving Without Car Insurance
If you are involved in a crash and you do not have auto insurance, your driver’s license could be suspended as well. Also, if you are caught without having adequate liability insurance at least two times, your driver’s license could be suspended until you submit an SR-22 as proof of state-monitored liability insurance.
Contact the traffic ticket attorneys at Anderson & Anderson, LLP who can advise you on how to obtain and submit an SR-22.
License Suspended In Another State
The Non-Resident Violator Compact (NRVC) is a compact used to address traffic citations across state borders.
If you are cited in another member state and you choose not to respond, the other state will notify Texas. Your DL will be suspended until you address the matter in the other state.
Also, if you apply for a license in Texas and your license is suspended in another state, your application will probably be denied. Our traffic ticket defense attorneys at Anderson & Anderson, LLP are experienced and knowledgeable in resolving NRVC issues.
What About An Occupational Driver’s License?
If your license is suspended, you might be eligible for an occupational driver’s license in order to carry out actual and essential needs. However, not everyone is eligible for this license, such as individuals who owe child support or who face medical issues. Contact our traffic ticket attorneys at Anderson & Anderson, LLP who can best advise you about an Occupational Driver’s License.
Contact Our Dallas Traffic Ticket Lawyers
If you have multiple moving violations in Texas, you are at risk of your driver’s license being suspended. Also, if you are convicted of driving on a suspended license, you face even more severe consequences. Contact our Dallas traffic ticket lawyers at Anderson & Anderson, LLP today at (214) 370-8260.